Religion News Service: In-depth. Impartial. Engaged.

Press Releases

Society for the Increase of the Ministry announces 2008 Scholarship Grants

9 Jun

For Immediate Release

924 Farmington Ave., West Hartford CT 06107

Date: June 6, 2008


The Society for the Increase of the Ministry (SIM or The Society) has been supporting Episcopal seminarians since it's founding in 1857 at Trinity College in Hartford, CT. The Rev. Canon Robert G. Carroon, Director of Scholarship Programs, at their recent Annual Meeting, reported Scholarship grants were awarded in 2008 totaling $224,000 to 76 Episcopal seminarians. This represents 43 dioceses in The Episcopal Church (TEC).

"Our goal is to have no Episcopal seminarian graduating with increased education debt," said Thomas Moore, newly named Executive Director of SIM. Moore, who formerly served in senior positions at The Church Pension Group, The Episcopal Church and the Friends of Canterbury Cathedral in the US (FOCCUS), is the first layperson to hold that position. He succeeds the Rev. Canon John L. C. Mitman, who will serve as Chief Development Officer.

Unlike other major denominations, the Episcopal Church does not have one-source funding for its seminarians. SIM is fulfilling this need for Episcopal seminarians. Headquarters for its national operations are maintained in West Hartford, CT.

Another highlight of SIM's 150th annual meeting was the election of seven new board members, representing 4 provinces of TEC: the Rev. Ernestein Cassell-Flemister, vicar-in-charge, Grace Church, Cincinnati, OH; the Rev. Charles N. Fulton III, president, Episcopal Church Building Fund and director of Congregational Development, Episcopal Church Center, New York; the Very Rev. Martha J. Horne, retired dean, Virginia Theological Seminary, Alexandria VA; the Rev. Canon Angela S. Ifill, Missioner for Black Ministries, Episcopal Church Center, New York; the Very Rev. James B. Lemler, priest in charge, Christ Church, Greenwich, CT and retired Dean of Seabury-Western Seminary; the Rev. Canon C. K. Robertson, canon to the Presiding Bishop and Primate of the Episcopal Church, Episcopal Church Center, New York; Richard M. Wenner, retired vice president, Aetna, West Hartford CT.

Continuing on the board are: Mrs. Margherita R. Cunningham, West Hartford, Connecticut and Albuquerque, New Mexico; The Reverend Amy L. Fallon, Storrs, Connecticut; Mr. Winthrop M. Goodwin, Glastonbury, Connecticut; The Reverend Salin M. Low, Pine Meadow, Connecticut; Dr. Marnie Mueller, Hartford, Connecticut; Mr. Frederick Osborn III, Garrison, New York; Ms. Judith C. Radasch, Litchfield, Connecticut; The Reverend Karin E. Wade, Rockport, Massachusetts.

"We are very excited and honored to welcome our new board members whose reputations and impact in The Episcopal Church combined with their willingness to serve speak of the significance of SIM's vision and mission," Moore stated after the election.

"Our progress in this mission and ministry is both measurable and exciting. It will be my very great pleasure to work with our new leader, Tom Moore, as we move forward in this absolutely vital ministry," stated The Rev. Canon John L.C. Mitman.Contact: Thomas Moore
(860) 233-1732


The organizations and/or individuals who submit materials for distribution by Religion News Service are solely responsible for the facts in and accuracy of their materials. Religion News Service will correct any errors brought to its attention.

Sign In

Forgot Password?

You also can sign in with Facebook or Twitter if you've connected your account to them.

Sign In Using Facebook

Sign In Using Twitter